Introduction

Founded in 2000, Macau University of Science and Technology (M.U.S.T.)has rapidly developed into the largest multi-disciplinary university in Macau and is also ranked as the youngest university among the Top 50 Universities in the Greater China1. M.U.S.T.endeavors to educate students specialized in various fields, dedicated to provide students with excellence teaching and research,offering quality programs and pursues excellence. Hence, M.U.S.T.has reached new heights continuously in academic development. For seven consecutive years, M.U.S.T. is ranked among the Top 100 universities in the “Ranking of Top Universities in Greater China” jointly released by the Center for World-Class Universities at Shanghai Jiao Tong University and Shanghai Ranking and ranked 28th in 2017. The University sits on Taipa with a campus size of 210,000m2. The beautiful surroundings and convenient transport render it an ideal place for students to pursue higher education and carry out research.

Mission and Vision

Upholding the motto of “Dedication to practical studies, Enhancement of knowledge, Ability and Quality”, M.U.S.T.adheres to its mission, “To promote cultural exchange, nurture intellectual growth, foster economic development and further societal progress”. To fulfill the needs of Macau and the rapid development of China,M.U.S.T. offers a range of programs by drawing on and incorporating into its work, the experiences of world-class higher education institutions, aiming to educate students not only master fundamental theories and are highly competitive in practice, but also are innovative, bilingual, educated and ethical, and adaptive to the needs of globalization of science and technology and economy. At the same time, M.U.S.T. supports its academics in conducting multi-disciplinary cutting-edge research, making efforts to leapfrog M.U.S.T. to join the family of Asia-Pacific renowned universities.

Faculties and Programs

Macau SAR government has authorized M.U.S.T.to award academic degrees at doctoral, master and bachelor levels; to cater to different interests from different people, M.U.S.T. offers approximately ten programs that are conducted mainly in English, with some conducted either in Chinese, Portuguese or Spanish. In addition to local students, M.U.S.T. attracts students from Mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan and rest of the world. Currently, there are approximately 11,000 students studying at the University, including approximately 3,200 master and doctoral students and 7,700 undergraduate students2.The faculties/departments at M.U.S.T. include the School of Business, Faculty of Hospitality and Tourism Management, Faculty of Humanities and Arts, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Information Technology, Faculty of Chinese Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences, School of Pharmacy, University International College and the Department of General Education which provide a wide range of courses such as social sciences, science, law, management, business, medicine, pharmacy, art, communications and language. Moreover, The School of Continuing Studies provides learning opportunities for adult learners.

Currently, the employability and the opportunity to further studies of our graduates are highly satisfying. Number of graduates have received scholarships from world renowned universities and continue further studies abroad. While majority of our graduates is working forthe government and other well-known enterprises in mainland China, Hong Kong and Macau.

Faculty members and Research Development

The key to excellent education and extraordinary research is to have a knowledgeable, professional experienced and internationalized faculty team. M.U.S.T. has hundreds chair professors, professors, visiting professors, associate professors and assistant professors.The majority of the academic and research staff have obtained PhD degrees and have worked or studied in world-renowned institutions and universities. In addition, M.U.S.T. has invited a group of world class specialists and experts to teach undergraduates and postgraduates. These specialists include academicians from Chinese Academy of Sciences, Chinese Academy of Engineering, Academia Sinica in Taiwan, United States National Academy of Sciences, Highly Cited scholars and other top scholars. These outstanding scholars are teaching our undergraduates and supervise postgraduates, imparting newest knowledge and disseminating latest research findings, which would widen the horizons of the students.

Academic freedom has always been the pursuit of the University. M.U.S.T. supports academic staff and researchers to develop diverse research projects, encouraging them to collaborate and produce new knowledge, new technology and new products so as to advance diversified academic development and to provide services for Macau’s development and development of the country. M.U.S.T.focus on places emphasis on development of characteristics and advantageous research areas, for example, quality and innovative drugs in Chinese medicine, data analysis of Chang’e satellite and lunar and planetary sciences, system engineering, smart city, architecture and city planning, human resources management and gaming tourism management, Macao society and culture, comparative studies of cross-regional laws in the cross-strait region, art design, Macau media studies, etc. M.U.S.T. encourages the faculty to publish high quality research outcomes. In recent years, our research publications at the Q1 zone of international SCI/SSCI academic journals have doubled, and the number of national and international patents granted has increased several times.

After years development, M.U.S.T. now owns a number of prominent institutes and research centers, including the Institution for Sustainable Development, the Space Science Institute, the Partner Laboratory of the Key Laboratory of Lunar and Deep Space Exploration, Chinese Academy of Sciences, the Institute for Social and Cultural Research, the State Key Laboratory of Quality Research in Chinese Medicine, Macau Institute of Systems Engineering, Macau Research Center for International Standard of Chinese Medicines, Research Centre on Arbitration & Alternative Dispute Resolution, Macau Media Research Center, Macau Environmental Research Institute, Macau Financial Innovation Research Center, and Macau Academy of Cinematic Arts. In 2016, the University has established Smart City Institute and Macau’s first Nobel Prize Winner Laboratory “Biophysical Laboratory for Chinese Medicine”. These institutes and laboratories perform the functions of teaching and research simultaneously, not only providing practical training opportunities for outstanding research talents but also making great contributions to the studies on the sustainable development of Macau and the adequate diversification of Macau’s economy.

Campus Life and Facilities

For campus facilities,M.U.S.T.has a beautiful campus, and several modern teaching buildings, well-established laboratories and rich collections in the library. M.U.S.T. advocates a harmonious, professional and caring campus which educates students with all-round development of their character. M.U.S.T. has set up the Mentor scheme to assist students in coping with problems in their studies and life. By holding many forms of student society activities, M.U.S.T. encourages students to actively participate in extra-curricular activities so as to develop their organizational skills, improve their social and cognitive abilities and broaden their knowledge spans.M.U.S.T. provides a diversity of facilities for students to engage in different kinds of colorful extra-curricular activities, for example, the establishment of a student center with multiple piano rooms, rehearsal rooms, multi-functional rooms, and other rooms that are open for students to use for free all year round. The Art Troupe offers students a stage to show their artistic talent. The Art Troupe has also become brand in art and culture of the University. The Center for Entrepreneurship and Career Planning helps students finding their personal strengths and expertise to excavate their own potential, establish a healthy, upright core value system in terms of career development, and enhance their competitiveness as well as planning and preparation to enter the labor market or entrepreneurship. The Student Affairs Office organizes visits, field trips and community activities for students. The University also encourages students to participate actively in various professional competitions locally and abroad. Based on students’ interests, the Student Affairs Office coordinates all kinds of training to students and provides them with guidance and counseling services.

There are convenience stores, bank centers, student restaurant, teaching restaurant, coffee corner, computer store, physical development center, an Olympic-standard track and field stadium and gymnasium, indoor stadium and tennis court facilities in the campus, providing conveniences for students to exercise and satisfy all their living needs. The University Hospital is located in the campus providing 24-hour support and handles emergencies for students and staff. The hospital is equipped with advanced equipment, in addition to a local professional medical team,there is also a specialist team of well-known specialists from Mainland China, Hong Kong and other countries.Moreover, the University is equipped with 24-hour security patrol in the campus and dormitories to protect the orderly campus environment.

The University owns five dormitory providing better work, study, and living environment for teachers and students. The newly built Block O teaching complex has been put in use. This new building has provided large number of classrooms, staff offices and teaching facilities. These facilities will enhance the teaching environment in the University.

Academic Exchange and International Cooperation

Internationalization has been an important momentum of M.U.S.T.’s development. It is also an important direction for M.U.S.T.’s future development. In terms of academic administration, M.U.S.T. integrates the experience of world-renowned universities with specific Macau-related local, social and cultural characteristics, and has established its own administrative principles and culture, management structure and system, administrative mechanisms and procedures that fit well withM.U.S.T.’s goal of becoming an internationalized university that’s equipped with internationally advanced world-level management. At present,M.U.S.T. has established many types of cooperation partnerships with more than one hundred institutions in Europe, America and Australia, mainland China, Taiwan, and Hong Kong, in educational programs, academic research, personnel training, student exchanges and other areas. It is also a member of the Association of Universities of Asia and the Pacific (AUAP) and the International Association of Universities (IAU). M.U.S.T. supports students to engage in overseas exchange programs and provides long-term, mid-term, short-term funding for outstanding students to study abroad. It also gives support to students to pursue further overseas studies or overseas employment in various ways, including through recommendations etc.

In the future,M.U.S.T. will continue endeavors to teaching and research, attract talents from all fields, hold tight to the two key elements: “quality” and “innovation”, to give full play to the advantage of a non-profit private university. M.U.S.T. will continue to improve through excellence education and outstanding research, serving the society and fulfill its mission.


1 “Ranking of Top Universities in Greater China” released by the Center for World-class Universities at Shanghai Jiao Tong University and Shanghai Ranking.

2 Statistics based on the number of students in September, 2017.

科大概况

澳门科技大学建校于2000年,发展迅速,已成为澳门规模最大的综合型大学,也是海峡两岸暨港澳最年轻的五十强大学1。大学致力为社会培养各类高质素人才,推行教研并重政策,注重办学特色,追求卓越,使学术发展不断踏上新台阶。大学已连续六年在上海交通大学世界一流大学研究中心和上海软科联合发布的“中国两岸四地大学排名”百强大学,2016年位列第32。大学坐落澳门氹仔岛,校园佔地面积约二十一万平方米,环境优美,交通便利,是学子求学及从事研究的理想之地。

办学宗旨与发展愿

大学秉持“意诚格物”之校训,恪守“增进文化交流,致力人才培育,促进经济发展,推动社会进步”的办学宗旨,紧贴澳门和国家发展所需,充分吸纳国际一流大学的办学经验,创办各类教育课程,培养基础理论扎实、实践及创新能力强、通晓中英双语、德才兼备、符合科技与经济全球化发展所需的高质素人才,同时积极拓展多元化和前沿性学术研究,促进大学跨越式发展,努力跻身亚太区知名学府行列。

院系设置与课程特

经澳门特区政府批准,大学拥有博士、硕士、学士三级学位授予权,提供数十个学位课程供各类学员选择修读,授课语言以英语为主,部分课程以中、葡或西班牙语授课。除澳门本地学生外,大学吸引了大批中国内地和港台地区学生前来求学,目前各类在校生逾万人,其中博士及硕士研究生约2800人,本科生7700多人2 。大学现设商学院酒店与旅游管理学院人文艺术学院法学院资讯科技学院中医药学院健康科学学院药学院国际学院、通识教育部,涵盖文、理、法、管、商、医、药、艺术、传播、语言等学科门类课程。还设有持续教育学院,为在职人士提供学习机会。

目前,本校毕业生在就业和深造进修学习等均很理想,许多毕业生获得国际知名学府的奖学金继续深造,更有大批毕业生进入中国内地和港澳的政府机构和知名企业工作。

师资队伍与科

拥有学识渊博、造诣精湛、经验丰富的国际化师资队伍,是创办优质教育和培养高质素人才的关键。大学现有讲座教授、教授、特聘教授、副教授、助理教授等数百人,大部分教研人员拥有博士学位,同时具有在世界知名大学或研究机构的工作或学习经验。除了既有的师资队伍以外,大学也特聘一批名师为本科生和研究生授课,包括中国科学院院士、中国工程院院士、台湾中央研究院院士、美国医学科学院院士、世界高被引科学家等顶尖学者。这批优秀学者为本科生授课及指导研究生,不仅能够传授最新知识和科研成果,更能扩大学生的国际视野和接受世界多元文化的熏陶。

大学崇尚学术自由,支持教师和研究人员开展多元化的学术研究,鼓励团队协作,创造新知识、新技术、新产品,促进学术多元发展,为澳门及国家发展服务。大学特别注重发展特色与优势研究领域,如中药质量与创新药物研究、嫦娥卫星月球数据分析与太空科学、系统工程、智慧城市、人力资源与博彩旅游管理、澳门社会文化研究、仲裁与争议解决研究、两岸四地跨域法律比较、艺术设计、澳门媒体研究等。大学鼓励教研人员发表高质量的研究成果,近年来在国际SCI/SSCI 的Q1第一区间学术期刊发表的高质量研究论文成倍增加,申请国内外发明专利则数倍增加。

经过多年建设,大学现有多个重大的研究院所及研究中心,可持续发展研究所、太空科学研究所、社会和文化研究所、中药质量研究国家重点实验室、澳门系统工程研究所、澳门转化医学研究所、澳门中药国际标准中心、仲裁与争议解决研究中心、澳门传媒研究中心、澳门环境研究院、澳门金融创新研究中心、澳门电影艺术研究院;2016年,大学还新设了智慧城市研究院和澳门首个诺贝尔奖得主实验室“生物物理与中医药实验室”。这些院所和中心同时兼备教研方面的功能,为培养优秀研究人才提供实践机会和研究平台,亦对澳门社会持续发展和经济适度多元发展作出新贡献。

学生活动与生活配

在教学设施方面,大学不仅校园优美,更有多座现代化教学大楼和一批设施完善的教学实验室,以及馆藏丰富的大学图书馆等。大学倡导兼容并蓄、和谐精业、尊师爱生,培育学生综合素质和促进学生全人发展。大学设立班导师制度辅助新入学的学生在学习和生活上解决疑难。学习之馀,大学鼓励学生积极开展各种课馀活动,包括组织多种形式的学生社团活动,培养学生的组织能力和社会认知能力,同时拓宽知识领域。大学为学生提供开展丰富多彩课馀活动的各种设施,设立学生活动中心及钢琴室、排演厅和多功能厅等,常年供学生免费使用。艺术团为学生提供施展艺术才华的舞台,已成为大学的文化艺术品牌。创业就业发展中心协助学生发掘自身潜能和专长,建立健康、良好生涯发展的核心价值,提升个人的竞争力,为进入社会就业创业做好规划准备。学生事务处为学生组织参观、考察和社区活动,亦鼓励学生积极参与国内外各类专业竞赛等,根据学生的兴趣群体组织多种形式训练班,及为学生提供生活辅导与心理谘询。

校园内设置了便利店、银行中心、学生餐厅、教学餐厅、咖啡阁、电脑店、体能发展中心和具奥林匹克运动会标准的田径运动场、室内体育馆和网球场等设施,提供学生锻练和衣食住行便利的场所。位于大学校园内的科大医院为学生提供24小时校医支援服务。科大医院设备先进,除拥有本地专业的医疗团队外,还有一批来自中国内地和香港等地的著名专科医生。另外,大学配备有24小时的保安人员在校园和宿舍巡逻看守,以保障校园环境的秩序。

大学第五座学生宿舍楼已投入使用,为师生提供了更充裕的工作、学习和生活条件。而新教学大楼也已正在建设中,新教学大楼包括一大批教室、教师办公室、教学及研究实验室等,这些硬件配套设施,将使大学的办学条件更加优良。

学术交流与国际合

国际化是大学发展的强劲动力,也是大学发展的重要方向。在学术管理上,大学根据澳门的社会及人文特点,充分吸纳国际知名学府的经验,建立适应大学国际化发展的管理理念与文化、管理模式与架构、管理制度与程式等,创办具有先进管理水平的国际型大学。目前,大学在教育课程、学术研究、人才培训、学生交流等领域,已与欧洲、美洲、澳洲及中国内地、台湾、香港等近100多所教研机构建立了多种形式的合作关係,也是亚太大学联合会(AUAP)及国际大学联合会(IAU)成员。大学鼓励学生海外交流,为优异生提供长、中、短期海外研习资助,大力支持毕业生向海外继续升学或就业,包括保荐学生升读海外研究生课程等。


展望未来,澳门科技大学将继续以教研为本,广纳贤才,牢牢把握“质量”和“创新”两个关键要素,充分发挥非牟利私立大学之优势,不断发展优质教育和卓越研究,服务社会,实现其办学宗旨和教育使命。


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1 上海交通大学高等教育研究院世界一流大学研究中心和上海软科联合发佈“中国两岸四地大学排名”百强名单。

2 2016年9月在校生人数。


celebration-for-must-17th