Course Description

Advanced Theories in Communication (3 credits)

This course is designed to acquaint students with the construction, development, verification, and application of communication theories. Students will have opportunities to discuss and reflect on communication theories in depth.

Critical and Cultural Theory (3 credits)

This course is designed to familiarize students with critical and cultural theories. Topics include semiotics, ideology, subjectivity, differences, gender, race, postmodernism, media technology and so on.

Advanced Quantitative Research Methods in Social Sciences (3 credits)

This course is an advanced level course for quantitative methods in social sciences. It is designed to provide students with opportunities to apply advanced research methods to resolve the research questions in communication.

Advanced Qualitative Research Methods in Social Sciences (3 credits)

This course aims to teach students to understand advanced qualitative research methods in social science, through in-depth reading, discussions, and practical assignments. The overall curriculum content mainly includes research method’s historical evolution, epistemology, theoretical background, and essence. The course also will analyze the literature and implementation process of various qualitative research.

Current Topics in Communication Studies (3 credits)

This course provides overview and critical interpretation of the frontiers in communication theory and research. The main topics covered include game studies, digital economy studies, digital labor studies, health communication studies, gender studies, and identity studies. The goal is to get students familiar with the frontier research, and critically inspect contemporary socio-cultural phenomena.

Advanced Social Statistics (3 credits)

This course covers how to use advanced statistics to analyze social science data. On the assumption that the students have basic statistics knowledge, it mainly introduce classical measure theories and the latest statistical methods, such as multivariate analysis, classification data analysis, time series analysis, and structural equation modeling.

Political Communication (3 credits)

Political communication mainly analyzes the interactive effect of politics and media in contemporary society. This course mainly studies how politicians, trade unions, pressure groups, non-governmental organizations, and terrorist organizations use the media to influence politics, especially the propaganda techniques in political elections. It also investigates political media content and its effect, including political advertising, marketing, public relations, and organizations of different levels, such as communication practices of grassroots movements, government and international entities.

Video Games and Society (3 credits)

The course analyzes text in video games, game production, the functions of video games, and relevant game theories and research methods.

Media, Culture and Society (3 credits)

It is a trans-disciplinary course which focuses on social changes under the influence of media. It also aims to explore the political and economic influences caused by new media technology. This course will introduce how media bring in different cultures and how the adoption confronts local culture and traditional social value. Media, culture and social interaction are the essential parts of the curriculum.

Research Methods in Visual Communication (3 credits)

This course is designed to lecture on the research methods that students will use in analyzing and interpreting visual images. The methods include visual content analysis, psychoanalysis, semiotic analysis, visual discourse analysis, etc.

Researching Inequality in the Media (3 credits)

This course aims to introduce an overview of media inequality research. In particular, the process aims to analyze a series of consecutive social inequality issues, such as gender, race, ethnicity, social class, and physical fitness, reported in the media to find out how these issues are perceived and dealt with through the media in modern society. In addition, the critical perspectives of media studies that addressed various social inequality issues and research methods used in each study are also discussed at the same time.

Body and Embodiment Studies (3 credits)

This course will introduce basic theories on body studies including structuralism, theory of practice, phenomenology and etc. The bodily experiences whether pain, emotion (for instance joy, pleasure and anger) will be one of the focus of the debates. Students will be asked to read to date researches especially local research works. Variant perspectives such as anthropology will be introduced to deepen the understandings.

Special Topics in Cultural Studies (3 credits)

This course discusses special topics in cultural studies. Emphasis will be given to scholarship in contemporary China. It serves as an introduction to the current literature in the field of Chinese cultural studies, and guides student to reflect on relevant topics.

Academic Activities (1 credits)

The students must participate in at least ten academic events recognized by the faculty, including talks, seminars and academic visit. The students should also submit a report of no less than 800 words after each participation and have every report graded by the adviser. It aims to cultivate students’ comprehensive qualities, broaden their academic horizons, and galvanize innovative thinking.

Dissertation (12 credits)

Students must submit dissertation for PhD degree (no less than 100,000 words, excluding footnotes, endnotes, and reference) and pass oral defense. Students must write the dissertation in accordance with the guidelines for dissertation for PhD degree.

Programme

Contact Us

Address:
R306, Macau University of Science and Technology, Avenida Wai Long, Taipa, Macau
Fax: (+853) 2888-0091

Bachelor of Arts(Art Design)
Bachelor of Arts in Art Design:
baad-ad@must.edu.mo
Tel: (+853) 8897-2216

Bachelor of Arts in Journalism and Communication
bajc-ad@must.edu.mo
Tel: (+853) 8897-2216

Doctor of Philosophy in Communication
Master of Arts in Communication
fa_inquiry@must.edu.mo
Tel: (+853) 8897-2945

Doctor of Philosophy in Design
Master of Design
g_design@must.edu.mo
Tel: (+853) 8897-2345

Doctor of Philosophy in Fine Arts
Master of Fine Arts
g_arts@must.edu.mo
Tel: (+853) 8897-1917

Doctor of Management in Film Industry
Master of Management in Film Industry
Master of Film Production
Bachelor in Film and Television Production
af@must.edu.mo
Tel: (+853) 8897-2973

Master of Fine Arts in Interactive Media
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Digital Media
Bachelor in Acting
af@must.edu.mo
Tel: (+853) 8897-2313

Doctor of Architecture
Master of Architecture
g_act@must.edu.mo
Tel: (+853) 8897-1782

传播学博士学位课程科目简介

传播学理论高阶 (3学分)

本科目将深度讲授、讨论传播学理论的建构、发展、验证与应用等,对传播学理论进行挖掘和探讨,特别专注于理论的生成成熟与发展相关本源议题。

批判与文化理论 (3学分)

本科目介绍批判和文化理论,主要涉及符号学、意识形态、主体性、差异、性别、种族、后现代主义及媒介科技等方面的议题。

社会科学量化研究方法高阶 (3学分)

本科目是社会科学量化研究方法的高阶科目,主要讲授用于解决传播学问题的高阶研究方法,如在綫传播实验设计,量表批判建构等。

社会科学质化研究方法高阶 (3学分)

本课程旨在透过深入阅读讨论与实际习作过程来引导学习者瞭解高等社会科学研究方法中有关质化研究的一般基础。整体课程内容主要含括其历史演进、认识论与理论背景、本质、型态、与范例;同时,本课程将通过文献的阅读与讨论以及经由分析、检视各类质化研究的设计架构与实施过程以釐清质化研究方法的诸问题。

传播学研究前沿 (3学分)

该科目对传播学前沿理论研究进行相关介绍和批判性阐释,包含游戏研究、数位经济研究、数位劳工研究、健康传播研究、性别研究、身份认同研究等等议题,引导学生认知相关前沿研究,并与当代社会文化现象相结合进行思辨验证。

社会统计高阶 (3学分)

该科目覆盖如何使用高级统计方法来分析社会问题数据,基于学生已经瞭解基础统计的前提,该科目主要介绍传播学研究中经典和最新的统计方法,包括多元分析,分类数据分析(如洛吉斯回归),时间序列分析,结构方程模型等。

政治传播 (3学分)

政治传播主要探讨政治、媒介在当代社会中之互相影响关係。本学科主要研究政治人物、工会、压力团体、非政府组织、恐怖组织如何去运用媒介去影响政治,特别是政治选举的宣传手法,还会关注政治媒介及其效果,政治广告、行销和公共关係,以及不同层级的组织,如基层运动、政府和国际实体的传播实务。

数位游戏与社会 (3学分)

该科目介绍数位游戏的内容构成,内容生成因素, 游戏的教育与娱乐功能, 游戏的非社会期望内容产生之社会效果与人群反应行爲,以及相关的理论与研究方法等。

媒介,文化与社会 (3学分)

该科目是一门跨学科科目,包含对多个知识领域进行溷合研究的内容。科目的重心是研究媒介对社会变迁的影响,媒介技术的发展对经济和政治做成甚麽影响。媒介发展如何带入外来文化,冲击本土文化和社会价值,媒介、文化和社会的互动关係和互动结果是本科目的中心内容。

视觉传播研究方法 (3学分)

该科目主要讲授分析与解读视觉影像的研究方法,包括视觉内容分析法、精神分析法、符号学分析法、话语分析法等。

媒体不平等性研究 (3学分)

该科目是对探讨媒体不平等性的相关研究的高阶介绍。通过分析媒体和一系列持续性社会话题相结合,认知在性别、种族、民族、社会阶级、身体健全性等不同层面的社会不平等性,同时探讨针对不同研究话题相对应的批判性研究角度与方法。

身体与具身性研究 (3学分)

该科目介绍「身体研究」的理论基础,包括结构主义、实践理论、现象学等。有关身体经验的部分,无论是疼痛、情绪(如:欢愉、快感、愤怒等),也是本课程讨论的重点之一。阅读分析部分已经累积的研究,尤其是已产出的本土研究成果,参照一些人类学的民族志以理解使用在身体研究中的不同视角。

文化研究专题 (3学分)

本科目就文化研究的专题展开研讨。注重当代、本土的学术关怀,介绍近年来中文世界文化研究的主要成果,引导对相关的议题进行进一步深入的思考。

学术专题项目 (1学分)

学生必须参与至少十次由学院认可的学术活动,如学校组织的讲座、研讨会、参观等。每次活动后,学生需提交不少于800字数的活动报告,并由指定导师批阅。该科目旨在培养学生的综合素质,开拓他们的学术视野,并培养他们的创新思维。

论文 (12学分)

学生必须提交博士学位论文(不少于十万字,不包括注脚、尾注和参考文献),并进行学位论文答辩。学生必须遵照大学关于学位论文的格式要求来撰写。

学院课程

联系我们

学院办公室:
澳门氹仔伟龙马路
澳门科技大学 R306 室
传真:  (+853) 2888-0091


艺术(艺术设计专业)课程  :
艺术学—艺术设计学士学位课程:

baad-ad@must.edu.mo
电话:(+853) 8897-2216

新闻传播学课程:
bajc-ad@must.edu.mo
电话:(+853) 8897-2216


传播学硕士/博士学位课程:
fa_inquiry@must.edu.mo
电话:(+853) 8897-2945


设计学硕士/博士学位课程:
g_design@must.edu.mo
电话: (+853) 8897-2345


美术学硕士/博士学位课程
g_arts@must.edu.mo
电话:(+853) 8897-1917


电影管理博士学位课程、电影管理硕士学位课程、电影制作硕士学位课程、影视制作学士学位课程:
af@must.edu.mo
电话:(+853) 8897-2973


数字媒体博士学位课程、互动媒体艺术硕士学位课程、数字媒体艺术学士学位课程、表演艺术学士学位课程:
af@must.edu.mo
电话:(+853) 8897-2313


建筑学硕士/博士学位课程:
g_act@must.edu.mo
电话: (+853) 8897-1782