Course Description

Core Courses

 

Communication Theory  (3 credits)

This course is designed to help broaden and deepen our understanding of contemporary communication theory through an examination of its methodological-interdisciplinary underpinnings. The course begins with an overview of the current status of communication inquiry. It then treats several philosophical, methodological, and theoretical ideas which contribute to the development of communication study.

 

Communication Research Methods  (3 credits)

This course introduces students to a variety of communication research methodologies. The three general communication paradigms (i.e. social scientific, interpretive, rhetorical and critical) are linked in different ways to specific research methods. Students will learn to use these methods to study communication phenomena as well as to become familiarized with the process of communication research.

 

Globalization and Communication  (3 credits)

The course relates to changes in communication taking place due to technological innovations, which enable free flow of messages across many parts of the world. The course introduces these changes and at the same time provides the foundation for discussion of key concepts addressed during the course, such as cultural imperialism, global public opinion, and hybridization.

 

Media and Cultural Studies  (3 credits)

Using a critical lens in examining the rhetoric, this course will inspect and analyze diverse culturally mediated messages. Students will examine the relationships between media and cultural ideas such as race, gender, sexuality, and popular culture. Students will also be taught to use a rhetorical research approach to analyze these concepts and their relationships with our daily interactions. This course is designed to nurture students’ communication skills, and help them to become better communicators, with foundational knowledge of media and culture, critical thinking, and a critical understanding towards culture.

 

Creative Strategy and Implementation  (3 credits)

This course aims to provide students with a comprehensive view of both the related concepts and theories of creative strategy, and its role in the Integrated Marketing Communication (IMC) process. Arising from the course, students will be asked to select a consumer product or service and determine its market positioning, target demographics and appropriate media utilization. They will be asked to prepare a strategy statement and creative brief. Through this process, students will learn the fundamentals of conceiving and implementing an effective and integrated campaign that utilizes traditional and emerging advertising media.

 

Brand Strategy and Communication  (3 credits)

The purpose of this course is to provide students with a foundational understanding of how to establish, evaluate, and manage a brand.  Specifically, appropriate theories, models and other tools to enable better branding decisions to be made will be provided in the class. The aim is to enable students to have a clearer and fuller understanding of significant issues in planning and evaluating sections in brand strategies.  They will also have the opportunities to work on a brand project in which the theories and strategies that they have learned will be applied as appropriate. 

 

Major Courses

Major: Integrated Marketing Communication

 

Integrated Marketing Communication  (3 credits)

The course enables students to understand and experience IMC or the entire planning process of sales promotion, through a client project. In addition, students will learn to set up IMC/sales promotional plans with a thorough marketing/situational analysis. During the process, students and strengthen their critical thinking and analytical skills in marketing strategies, significantly supporting their roles as multi-functional managers.

 

Insights into Consumer Behavior (3 credits)

This course introduces theories and methods by students can better understand consumer behavior. The course will be based on three aspects: the evaluation of evidence relevant to consumer behavior (e.g., how to read journal articles, evaluate statistics and judge marketing research data); understand and apply existing theory and data relevant to consumer behavior (from the viewpoints of psychology, economics, and relevant social sciences); data gathering using principal consumer behavior research techniques (laddering, surveys, and experiments).

 

Major: Global Communication

 

Intercultural Communication  (3 credits)

Intercultural communication focuses on the importance of culture in our everyday lives, and the ways in which culture interrelates with and affects communication processes.  In an era of globalization in which dissemination of information is speedy, understanding message exchange mechanisms and processes in different cultures can provide students with deep appreciation of these in both daily and research activities.  This course is designed to increase students’ awareness of their own cultural backgrounds and contexts (social, cultural and historical) and their sensitivity to other cultures. 

 

Global Media: Politics, Economics and Ethics  (3 credits)

The course focuses on an overview of, and introduction to current issues and recent developments in the media landscape worldwide. It discusses the balance of power in shifts from national to global contexts related to media players; it introduces critical political and economic perspectives, and considers how a nation maintains an important position in its global media policy and developments. 

 

Major: Strategic Communication

 

Strategic Communication  (3 credits)

Generating public support through effective communication is an essential element of success for profitable, non-profitable and social organizations. Concepts and skills learnt on the course will equip students with knowledge for merging communication into organizational missions and diverse activities. Students will gain familiarity with a variety of communication techniques and instruments, and set up a basic communication plan for an organization with which they are familiar.

 

Crisis Communication  (3 credits)

This course is designed to provide students with crisis communication theories and application. Specifically, the course covers crisis communication theory, crisis management approaches, classical cases and the influence of culture on crisis communication. In addition to traditional methods, the class will engage in simulations, field trips and individual research to gain rich knowledge of the course contents.

 

Academic Year Paper (4 credits)

Students are required to complete an Academic Year Paper by the end of the first academic year. The paper should be an original analytic study on a topic related to their specific research areas. Generally, the length of the paper should be no fewer than 10,000 words, excluding footnotes, endnotes and references. Students should follow the University’s format requirements for Master’s thesis.

 

Academic Activities (1 credit)

Students are required to participate in at least ten academic activities that are recognized by the Faculty of Humanities and Arts, such as the famous scholars’ seminars held on campus. Students are required to complete and hand in a one-page report for each activity.

 

Thesis (12 credits)

Students are required to submit and defend a Master’s Thesis. Generally, the length should be no fewer than 20,000 words, excluding footnotes, endnotes and references. Students should follow the University’s format requirements for the thesis.

傳播學碩士學位課程科目簡介

核心科目

傳播學理論 (3學分)
通過考察傳播學學科的方法論和跨學科基礎,這門課程將開拓學生的理論視野,加深他們對傳播學理論的理解。該課程首先會介紹傳播學學科的當前發展,然後追尋為傳播學發展做出貢獻的諸多哲學、方法論及其它理論觀點。

 

傳播學研究方法 (3學分)
本課程主要介紹各種傳播學研究方法。一般來說,三個傳播學範式——社會科學、闡釋學、修辭學和批判理論,都與具體的研究方法有著或多或少的聯係。學生不但學習這些方法,運用它們研究人類傳播現象,還要熟悉傳播學的研究過程。

 

全球化與傳播 (3學分)
科技革新與發展使信息在全球範圍內的自由流動成為可能,也使得人類的傳播發生了很多重要改變。這門課程主要介紹這些變化,並啟發學生討論一些重要概念,如文化帝國主義、全球公眾輿論以及文化雜交等。

 

媒介與文化研究 (3學分)
從批判修辭學的角度,這門課將考察多種文化信息。學生將要考察媒介與文化觀念(如種族、性別、流行文化等)之間的關係。他們還將使用修辭學研究的方法探究這些概念以及它們與我們的日常交往之間的關係。這門課程還將幫助學生培養傳播技巧,通過對媒介與文化的認識、批判思考以及對批判文化的理解等成為一個更好的傳播者。

 

創意策略與執行 (3學分)
這門課主要介紹與創意策略相關的概念與理論,以及創意策略在整合營銷傳播過程中扮演的重要角色。在本課程的學習過程中,學生將被要求選擇某個消費產品或服務,確定它的市場定位、目標消費群以及合適的廣告媒介,為它製定有效的營銷策略,並展示他們的策略方案。通過這一過程,學生將學會如何利用各種傳統與新興廣告媒介構思與執行一個有效的營銷活動。

 

品牌策略與傳播 (3學分)
本課程的目的在於為學生提供關於建立、評估以及管理一個品牌的基本知識。具體而言,學生在這門課上將學習可以用於品牌決策過程的適當的理論、模式及方法,加深他們對品牌策略中的策劃與評估環節的重要問題的理解。他們還將有機會將所學理論應用於品牌策略實踐。

 

專業範疇科目
整合營銷傳播專業範疇

整合行銷傳播 (3學分)
本課程主要是藉助客戶項目讓學生了解並體驗IMC或銷售促進的整個策劃過程。此外,學生將學習如何從全面的市場/環境分析來製定IMC或銷售促進策劃案。在此過程中,學生將增強他們批判思考和市場營銷策略分析等能力,這些能力對多功能性的管理者具有重要價值。

 

消費者洞察 (3學分)
本課主要介紹更好地理解消費行為的理論及方法。其主要內容立足於三方面:與消費者行為相關的證據的評價(例如,如何閱讀期刊文章,評價統計數據,判斷市場營銷研究的資料等);理解並運用已有的與消費者行為相關的理論和數據(從心理學、經濟學和其它社會科學的角度);使用最重要的研究技巧(階梯訪問、問卷調查和實驗等)去搜集關於消費者行為的資料。

 

全球傳播專業範疇

 

跨文化傳播 (3學分)
跨文化傳播關註文化在我們日常生活中的重要性以及文化與傳播過程的相關性和對傳播過程的影響。我們生活在一個全球傳播加速的時代,了解文化間的信息交流機製與過程無論對我們的日常生活還是研究工作都具有深刻意義。這門課將讓學生增強他們對自身的文化背景(社會的、文化的和歷史的)的認識以及對其他文化的感知。

 

全球媒介:政治、經濟與倫理 (3學分)
本課程主要介紹世界媒介圖景的當前狀態和近期發展。學生還將在課上討論與媒體人相關的權力重心從國家到全球的轉移,介紹政治經濟學的批判方法,並探討一個國家如何能在全球的媒介政策和發展中保持重要地位。

 

策略傳播專業範疇

 

策略傳播 (3學分)
通過有效的傳播獲得公眾的支持對營利性、非營利性和公共組織的成功來說至關重要。學生在課上學習的概念和技巧將幫助他們認識到如何將傳播融入組織任務以及各種活動中。學生還將學習各種傳播技巧和工具,並為他們熟悉的一個組織策劃一個基本的傳播方案。

 

危機傳播 (3學分)
本課程主要介紹危機傳播的理論及其應用。具體而言,該課程涉及的內容包括危機傳播的理論、危機傳播管理的方法、經典案例以及文化對危機傳播的影響。除了傳統的研究方法,學生還會學習諸如模擬方法、田野調查、個人研究等來領會課程內容。

 

學年論文 (4學分)
學生必須在第一學年結束前提交一篇學年論文。該論文必須是與學生的研究領域相關的話題的原創性研究。一般來說,字數不能少於一萬字(不包括腳註、尾註和參考文獻)。學生必須遵照大學關於碩士學位論文的格式要求來撰寫。

 

學術活動 (1學分)
學生必須參與至少十次由學院認可的學術活動,如學校組織的大師講座。學生每次需完成並提交一頁紙長度的活動報告。

 

論文 (12學分)
學生必須提交碩士學位論文(不少於兩萬字,不包括腳註、尾註和參考文獻),並進行學位論文答辯。學生必須遵照大學關於學位論文的格式要求來撰寫。

 

人文藝術學院

聯繫我們

學院辦公室:
澳門氹仔偉龍馬路
澳門科技大學P26-204室


藝術(藝術設計專業)課程  :
藝術學—藝術設計學士學位課程:

baad-ad@must.edu.mo

新聞傳播學課程:
bajc-ad@must.edu.mo
電話:  (+853) 8897-2216
傳真:  (+853) 2888-0091


傳播學碩士/博士學位課程:
fa_inquiry@must.edu.mo
電話: (+853) 8897-2945
傳真: (+853) 2888-0091


設計學碩士/博士學位課程:
g_design@must.edu.mo
電話: (+853) 8897-2345
傳真: (+853) 2888-0091


美術學碩士/博士學位課程
g_arts@must.edu.mo
電話:(+853) 8897-1917
傳真:(+853) 2888-0091


電影管理博士學位課程、電影管理碩士學位課程、電影製作碩士學位課程、影視製作學士學位課程:
af@must.edu.mo
電話:(+853) 8897-2973
傳真:(+853) 2888-0091


互動媒體藝術碩士學位課程、數字媒體藝術學士學位課程、表演藝術學士學位課程:
af@must.edu.mo
電話:(+853) 8897-2313
傳真:(+853) 2888-0091


建築學碩士/博士學位課程:
g_act@must.edu.mo
電話: (+853) 8897-1782
傳真: (+853) 2888-0091